Executive Committee

Serena Banh

Serena is currently a graduate medical student at the University of Aberdeen. She earned both her B.Sc and M.Sc at McGill University in Montreal, Canada with her thesis on mechanism of embryo responses to teratological insult. After completing her Masters, Serena moved to Hong Kong where she worked as a clinical and research embryologist. Over her 9 years of training, Serena has collaborated with multiple research groups from USA, Canada, Hong Kong, Spain and the UK. Her research interests include birth defects and fetal development, and the subsequent health impact in adults.

Aïsha Sooltangos
Society Coordinator

Aïsha is a fourth year medical student at the University of Manchester. In her role as Conference co-Director of the NSAMR national conference in 2017, Aïsha became aware of NSAMR’s unique ability to act as a common platform for the various medical societies across the country, of the collaboration thus generated and the immense potential for education and development therein. She thus joined NSAMR to further expand and exploit this network for the benefit of the wider student body. She has research interests in clinical neurosciences.

Claudia Shi Ya Lee
Finance Lead

Claudia is a second year medical student at University College London. Her research interests include cardiology and influenza epidemiology. As the Finance & Fundraising Lead, she aims to carry on the success of previous years and arrange monetary finances for the smooth running of NSAMR activities.

Ali Ansaripour
Research Lead

Ali is a final year medical student at King’s College London. He is currently undertaking an MSc in neuroscience at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience (IoPPN). He has extensive experience in research, working on clinical trials prior to medical school and since starting medical school he has continued to be involved in both clinical and lab research, publishing work in international journals and presenting at national and international venues. In addition, he has received a number of scholarships and national recognitions and awards.

Alexander Cawley
Outreach Lead

Alex is a final year medical student passionate about medical research and ensuring social diversity in medicine. His aim is for NSAMR Outreach to carry on the success of the previous years. His academic interests lie in neurology and neurosurgery.

Elena-Christina Andreica
Events Lead

The events team coordinates the national conference in collaboration with affiliated society hosting. The team also runs two virtual conferences, one national and one international. Throughout the year the events team run several live streamed workshops and talks that societies can get involved with.

Stephanie Rees
Journal Lead

Stephanie has a keen interest in Cardiothoracic Surgery and research, and hopes to combine the two throughout her training. She has previously undertaken an intercalated BSC in Cardiovascular research, looking into the effect of hyperglycaemia on vascular tone, and hopes to further her knowledge and skills by undertaking a PhD in the future.

Azmi Rahman
Mentoring Lead

Azmi is an undergraduate student at Imperial College London, with an interest in surgery, and advancement of surgical techniques. Following his undergraduate training, he aims to complete a PhD in clinical research and pursue a career as a clinician-scientist. As a student, Azmi has 7 years’ experience in wet-lab and dry-lab research, and organising and mentoring epidemiological research groups. Azmi also has an interest in medical education, teaching and organising medical and surgical education opportunities for medical students.

Emma Gill
Education Lead

Emma is a graduate medical student in her penultimate year at the University of Edinburgh. Over the past 6 years, Emma has worked in labs based in Nottingham, Leeds and Edinburgh. She has experience in various techniques ranging from electroencephalography to immunohistochemistry and has also conducted behavioural research. Her research interests predominantly focus on learning and memory. More recently, she has been working to better understand the pathology of absence epilepsy.  Emma hopes to ultimately pursue a career in academic medicine.

Hamilton Morrin
IT Lead

Hamilton possesses an interest in the fields of neurology, psychiatry and digital health. He has completed an intercalated BSc in Medical Genetics, during which he acquired wet lab experience in cell culture maintenance, lentiviral vector transduction and qPCR. Currently he is involved in research into the genetic architecture of Lewy body dementia, as well as the neuroanatomy of deficit schizophrenia, with the intention of pursuing a PhD down the line.

Previous Committees

  • 2016-2017
  • 2015-2016
  • 2014-2015
  • 2013-2014

Chair | Robert Lundin
Societies | Ziyan Sheng
Finance | Edward Christopher
Research | Serena Banh
Events | Ben Cross
Outreach | Abhinav Mathur
Journal | Matthew Byrne
IT | Helen Jackson
Mentoring | Lewis Isaacs

Chair | Sophie Herbert
Secretary | Stuart O’Connor
Mentorship | Charles Badu-Boateng
Outreach | Sophie Herbert
Research | Robert Michael Lundin
Journal | Dinakshi Shah
IT & Website | Zi Yi Tew

Chair | Rory Piper
Secretary | Meghavi Mashar
Mentorship | Charles Badu-Boateng
Outreach | Sophie Herbert
IT & Website | Zi Yi Tew

Chair | Michael Mather
Secretary | Clark Russel